Bohna named to NSL volleyball all-league first team

Yosemite High School sophomore Savannah Bohna has been named a first team all league selection by coaches of the North Sequoia League. Bohna was also named the league’s Underclassman of the Year.

Yosemite finished the season 30-11 overall, 8-2 in league behind Sierra (31-3, 9-1 NSL). The Badgers went on to the Central Section D-III playoffs losing to Mission Oak in the semi-finals round, and Sierra won the D-IV section title beating Minarets.

According to, Bohna ended the season ranked No. 3 in the NSL in offensive kills (161), No. 13 in blocked shots (21), No. 15 in point saving digs (129), and recorded 72 assists, and 11 ace serves.

Named to the all league second team were seniors Dainya DeBock and Kailei Gould.

DeBock ended the season ranked No. 2 in the NSL in blocks (106), No. 4 in kills (143), No. 15 in aces (22), and recorded 72 assists, and 63 digs.

On the season, Gould was No. 2 in league in digs (365), No. 7 in blocks (26), No. 11 in kills (102), and had 14 aces.

Yosemite players receiving all league honorable mention recognition, all sophomores, were Tiffany Cacy, Rachel Loveland, Karee Smith, and Hannah Hurtado. Hurtado was No. 1 in the NSL with 388 digs.

Academic All-League honors (minimum 3.5 GPA) went to Autumn Mitchell, Sammy Rockey, Shelby Biscaglie, Gould, Karee Smith, Loveland, Siena Oswald, Cacy, Hurtado, and DeBock.

The league’s MVP award went to Sierra’s Jordan Falk. Others named to the first team were Kinlee Rix (Sierra), and three Liberty (third place in league) players - Madison Devine, Tayler Sefron, and Hannah Chase.

Team awards

In addition to the league honors, coach Michele Chenowith and assistant coach Trudi Cacy announced team awards during the program’s Dec. 8 awards banquet at El Cid’s Mexican Restaurant.

The team MVP awards went to Cacy. She finished the season No. 2 in the NSL in assists (423), No. 6 in digs (256), No. 5 in blocks (40), recorded 14 kills, and 11 aces.

DeBock was named the team’s Offensive Player of the Year, and Gould received the Defensive Player of the Year award.

Sophomore Sienna Oswald received the Coach’s Award.

Additional team awards were as follows:

Scholar Athletes (minimum 3.75 GPA): Gould, Smith, Loveland, Oswald, Cacy, DeBock, Rockey, and Hurtado.

Winner’s Award (never absent entire season): Loveland, Hurtado, and Bohna.

Captain’s Award: Gould, DeBock, Biscaglio, and Cacy.

JV team awards

This year’s JV team, coached by Tricia Ruiz, went undefeated in league play, and was 15-4 overall.

Team co-captain Jordyn Jackson was named the team’s MVP - co-captain Katherine Bayt received the Coach’s Award - and Sayda Taylor was named the Most Improved Player.

Receiving Winner’s Awards were Chloe Duke, Taylor, Jackson, and Izzy Peter.

Co-MVPs for the frosh team, coached by Kristen Kernaghan and Stephanie Pardue, were Amanda Loveland and Amanda Truelove. The Coach’s Award went to Angelina McBride, and Dakota Klaproth received the Most Improved Player award.