Library concert Sunday

— Sierra Foothill Composers' Cooperative

March 18, 2014 

Six local composers, who have formed the Sierra Foothill Composers' Cooperative to share their music with the community, will hold their first concert at 2:30 p.m., Sunday, March 23, in the Oakhurst Branch Library's music room.

The program will include the music of Bach, Mozart, Debussy, and Faure, as well as pieces composed by the four founding members of the group: Brad Hufft, John Kilburn, Susan Moore, and Barbara Ulman.

The concert will be performed by nine musicians from the Mountain Area, Fresno and Merced — with various combinations of harp, flute, cello, English horn, piano, guitar and voice.

While there is no charge for tickets, donations will be gratefully accepted to cover costs, and to contribute to the Friends of the Oakhurst Branch Library (FOBL) — an organization of volunteers who provide the library with many things not covered by county funding.

A reception following the concert will give the audience an opportunity to speak with the composers and performers.

Details: Barbara Ulman, (559) 683-7227.

The Sierra Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service