Did you know?

September 3, 2013 

The Little League World Series began in 1947 as a national tournament for all known Little League programs across the United States. Initially known as the National Little League Tournament, the inaugural tournament featured just 11 teams, all of which were from Pennsylvania or New Jersey. However, more than 2,500 spectators were on hand in Williamsport, Pennsylvania to witness Maynard Little League defeat the Lock Haven All Stars in the title game by a score of 16-7. That result was printed in newspapers around the country, and the resulting publicity helped spread Little League nationwide. Within a few years of the inaugural tournament, every state had its own Little League program.

The Sierra Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service